Alabama's AJ McCarron wins the Maxwell Award

Alabama's AJ McCarron wins the Maxwell Award

Posted: Updated:
(Source: File Video) (Source: File Video)

Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron has another award to add to his resume. The Crimson Tide senior was presented with the 77th Maxwell Award on Thursday night at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Award Show.

The Maxwell Award is presented annually to the Collegiate Player of the Year. He is the first Alabama player in the history of the program to win the award.  

"This is an honor to be here," McCarron said as he was presented the award. "This is awesome. I cannot thank my teammates enough. They made this all possible.

McCarron was also presented the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award earlier this month. The Johnny Unitas award is given to the nation's most outstanding senior or fourth year quarterback in college football.  McCarron will also be in New York City as a finalist for the Heisman Trophy.

McCarron has been apart of three national championship winning teams, starting for two of them. His record at Alabama as a starter is 36-3. McCarron threw for 2,676 yards and 26 touchdowns this season, completing 67.6 percent of his passes. McCarron holds many Alabama records including career passing yards (8,632), career completions (667 passes), and wins (36).

Copyright 2013 WSFA 12 News. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by WorldNow