UAB Track and Field Team Moves Into Top 25

UAB Track and Field Team Moves Into Top 25

Posted: Updated:

From UAB Sports Information:

UAB's track and field team moved into the top-25 polls nationally at No. 25 in the USTFCCCA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Poll for the first time in school history, the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association released on Tuesday.
 
UAB is the highest-ranked Conference USA school in the poll, topping East Carolina who sits at No. 42. Graduate students Elinor Kirk andNeal Tisher qualified for the upcoming NCAA Finals at this past weekend's NCAA East Preliminary meet, and will cap their UAB careers at the national meet June 11-14.
 
Kirk won the 5,000-meter run on Saturday in Jacksonville, Fla. and will make her second-straight appearance in the 5K championship. She ran a 33:55.60 in Thursday's 10,000-meter run to also qualify for the 10K finals.
 
Tisher, the Mobile, Ala. native in medical school, topped out at a 4.20m (13-9 1Ž4) in pole vault on Friday to qualify for the NCAA Finals.
 
Kirk will open competition in Eugene, Ore. on Thursday, June 12, at 7:15 p.m. PT/9:15 p.m. CT in the 10K and will run in the 5K at 3:24 p.m. PT/5:24 p.m. CT on Saturday, June 14. Tisher is scheduled to vault at 3:15 p.m. PT/5:15 p.m. CT on Friday, June 13.

Powered by WorldNow